Events

Battlefields Trust Online Lecture: Basing House: New Findings

Tuesday 14th June 2022

Jessie will discuss the research for her latest history book, The Siege of Loyalty House, which covers not only the various sieges of Basing House, but the build-up and aftermath as experienced by some of the key players. She will flesh out the main characters, reveal private portraits and artefacts, show manuscripts that shed light on the siege and its aftermath and provide new information about what really happened to the royalists trapped in the vaults during the final storm. The siege of Basing House was a defining episode of the civil war. By looking at it in detail, we gain not only a better understanding of the siege and the wider war, but also of the human condition under stress.

Jessie Childs is the award-winning author of God's Traitors (PEN Hessell-Tiltman Prize for History) and Henry VIII's Last Victim (Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography). She has written and reviewed for many papers, including the Sunday Times, Guardian and London Review of Books. Her TV contributions include the BAFTA-nominated Elizabeth I's Secret Agents (BBC 2 & PBS) and two BBC series on Charles I.

 
 

For further information.

 

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 7th July 2022
Read More

The Eleanor Cross at Northampton Battle of Northampton 1460
Sunday 10th July 2022
Read More

Battle of North Walsham 1381
Saturday 23rd July 2022
Read More

Battlefield Church Shrewsbury Battle of Shrewsbury 1403 Festival
Saturday and Sunday 23rd-24th July 2022
Read More

Edgcote battlefield Battle of Edgcote 1469
Sunday 24th July 2022
Read More

Deal Castle Deal Castle Visit
Monday 25th July 2022
Read More

John Hampden monument Battle of Chalgrove 1643
Sunday 31st July 2022
Read More

Tewkesbury battlefield information board Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th August 2022
Read More

Battle of Huntingdon 1645
Saturday 20th August 2022
Read More

The Falkland memorial and interpretation board. First Battle of Newbury 1643
Sunday 2nd October 2022
Read More

The battlefield from Edgehill Battle of Edgehill 1642
Sunday 16th October 2022
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 23rd October 2022
Read More

Rome is the Light
Saturday 26th November 2022
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre