Events

Spring/Summer online lecture programme

May to July 2021

Dates for your diary: our Spring/Summer programme of free zoom lectures for members. These will take place at 8.00pm and members will receive an email invitation to register approximately a week before each talk.

 

 

Weds 5 May: Dr Emily Winkler: the battle of Hastings and the Malfosse incident.

Thurs 20 May; Presidential Lecture. Professor Michael Wood: From Ashdown to Edington: King Alfred and the Viking Great Army 871-78.

Thurs 3 June: Dr Paul Dryburgh: the battle of Myton 

Thurs 17 June Simon Marsh: From the ‘flanks of the musketeers’ to ‘a place strongly fortified’ – Ordnance in the British Civil Wars

Fri 2 July: Professor Steve Murdoch: the battle of Marston Moor

Tues 13 July: Mike Ingram: the battle of Northampton, 1264

Thurs 22 July: Serena Jones: the battle of Cheriton

 
 
 

Members' zoom lecture
Thursday 17th June 2021
Read More

Members' zoom lecture
Friday 2nd July 2021
Read More

Members' zoom lecture
Tuesday 13th July 2021
Read More

Members' zoom lecture
Thursday 22nd July 2021
Read More

Possible Anglo-Saxon position at Ashdown looking toward Lowbury Hill Battle of Ashdown 871
Sunday 8th August 2021
Read More

Islip battlefield from the probable royalist position - Photo Gregg Archer Battle of Islip Bridge 1645
Sunday 26th September 2021
Read More

The battlefield from Edgehill Battle of Edgehill 1642
Sunday 17th October 2021
Read More

Donnington castle which played a role in the battle Second Battle of Newbury 1644
Sunday 31st October 2021
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre