Events

Battlefields Trust Annual Conference and AGM

Friday 26th to Sunday 28th April 2019

 

Bookings are now being taken for the Battlefields Trust 2019 annual conference and AGM which will be held at Winchester University. 

For further information and a downloadable booking form please click on the link at the bottom of the page. 

 

Battlefields Trust Annual General Meeting and Conference

Friday 26th to Sunday 28th April 2019

The Stripe Lecture Theatre, University of Winchester, Sparkford Road, Winchester, SO22 4NR

 

Friday 26 April

3.30pm walking tour of medieval Winchester (meet at the war memorial, Cathedral west front)

8.30pm informal get-together in Winchester pub (Location tbc)

 

Saturday 27 April

10.00am Dr Chris Scott, Guild of Battlefield Guides The Battle of Roundway Down 1643.

11.00am James Hester, University of Southampton Weapons use in the Middle Ages.

12.00pm Lunch Exhibition of finds from Basing House

2.00pm Elizabeth Norton, King’s College, London The Blounts and the Wars of the Roses.

3.00pm Sophie Anderton, National Army Museum Museums and military heritage.

4.15pm Dr Ryan Lavelle, University of Winchester Warfare in Anglo-Saxon Wessex

7.00pm Conference dinner plus quiz in the Shakespeare Room

 

Sunday 28 April

9.30am Battlefields Trust AGM

10.30am Dr Phil Marter, University of Winchester Preserving 20th century battlefields

11.30am Simon Marsh and Sam Wilson, Battlefields Trust, Researching the battlefield of Stow 1646

12.30pm Free time for lunch and individual visits in Winchester

1.45pm Optional walking tour of historic city (meet at the war memorial, Cathedral West Front)

2.45pm Depart for Cheriton battlefield by coach

3.00pm Walking tour of Cheriton battlefield

5.00pm Return to University

Please click below for further information and a downloadable booking form

 

 


Battlefields Trust Annual General Meeting and Conference
(64.00 KB)

 

 
 
 

Barnet Medieval Festival
Saturday and Sunday 8th and 9th June 2019
Read More

Visit to Norman Cross
Sunday 23rd June 2019
Read More

Chalk Valley History Festival
Thursday 27th June - Sunday 30th June 2019
Read More

Information Board Cropredy Bridge Battle of Cropredy Bridge 1644 375th anniversary event
Saturday and Sunday 29th and 30th June 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Langport 1645
Saturday 6th July 2019
Read More

John Speed's map of Bristol Siege of Bristol 1643
Sunday 7th July 2019
Read More

Queen Eleanor's Cross Northampton Battle of Northampton 1460
Wednesday 10th July 2019
Read More

Storm of Marlborough 1642 - Re-enactment
Saturday and Sunday 27th July - 28th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 8th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Bosworth 1485 Medieval Festival
Saturday and Sunday 17th and 18th August 2019
Read More

A view of Crown Hill from the Bosworth battlefield Battle of Bosworth 1485
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

Battle of Myton 1319
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

Battle of Stamford Bridge 1066
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

The ancient sunken lane which leads from Nibley Green to the battlefield Battle of Nibley Green 1470
Saturday 21st September 2019
Read More

Battle of Winceby sign Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 13th October 2019
Read More

The view across Edgehill battlefield Battle of Edgehill 1642
Saturday 26th October 2019
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre