Events

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471

Sunday 3rd February 2019

On Saturday 4th May 1471 the “Wars of the Roses” came to a head at Tewkesbury. The Yorkist army commanded by Edward IV, and his brother, the future Richard III, chased down and defeated the Lancastrian army of Queen Margaret and her son Edward, Prince of Wales. The outcome crushed the hope that the heir to the House of Lancaster would again take the throne of England.

 

The walk last approximately 2 hours and is free, although donations to the Society are welcome .Just turn up and walk, dogs on leads welcome.

 

The walk starts at 2:00pm at the short stay car park in Gander Lane (GL20 5PG) Meet on the steps of the red brick “Abbey lawn gate” on the Abbey side of the car park

 
 

For further information.

 

Barnet Medieval Festival
Saturday and Sunday 8th and 9th June 2019
Read More

Visit to Norman Cross
Sunday 23rd June 2019
Read More

Chalk Valley History Festival
Thursday 27th June - Sunday 30th June 2019
Read More

Information Board Cropredy Bridge Battle of Cropredy Bridge 1644 375th anniversary event
Saturday and Sunday 29th and 30th June 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Langport 1645
Saturday 6th July 2019
Read More

John Speed's map of Bristol Siege of Bristol 1643
Sunday 7th July 2019
Read More

Queen Eleanor's Cross Northampton Battle of Northampton 1460
Wednesday 10th July 2019
Read More

Storm of Marlborough 1642 - Re-enactment
Saturday and Sunday 27th July - 28th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 8th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Bosworth 1485 Medieval Festival
Saturday and Sunday 17th and 18th August 2019
Read More

A view of Crown Hill from the Bosworth battlefield Battle of Bosworth 1485
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

Battle of Myton 1319
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

Battle of Stamford Bridge 1066
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

The ancient sunken lane which leads from Nibley Green to the battlefield Battle of Nibley Green 1470
Saturday 21st September 2019
Read More

Battle of Winceby sign Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 13th October 2019
Read More

The view across Edgehill battlefield Battle of Edgehill 1642
Saturday 26th October 2019
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre