Events

Knowing too much, knowing too little? Agincourt and Bosworth.

Thursday 11th June 2020

Two iconic battles of the fifteenth century, involving two iconic kings. But whilst we have many contemporary sources concerning Agincourt, we have relatively few for Bosworth. Anne Curry considers this dilemma and what it means for the interpretation of these battles.

Anne Curry is Chair of the Battlefields Trust and a former president of the Historical Association. She has recently retired as Professor of Medieval History at the University of Southampton where she was also Dean of Humanities for eight years. A  world expert on the Hundred Years War and the Battle of Agincourt and the author of a number of books on the subject,  Anne Currie was also involved as historical consultant in the HLF-funded project which located the true site of the battle of Bosworth. 

7:00pm - 9:00pm, God’s House Tower, Town Quay Rd, Southampton SO14 2NY

Tickets £10.00 including Tower access

For further information and to book tickets please click HERE

 
 

For further information.

 

East Anglia region study day
Saturday 29th February 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 1st March 2020
Read More

National Aboretum Staffordshire Military Heritage Weekend
Friday 13th March - Sunday 15th March 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Fulford 1066
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

How to Capture A Castle
Thursday 9th April 2020
Read More

A view of the Parliamentarian deployment area on 'Old Nans' (Ordnance) Hill at Ripple Battle of Ripple Field 1643
Saturday 18th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Ashdown 871
Sunday 26th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Thursday 14th May 2020
Read More

Battle of Alton 1643
Sunday 24th and Monday 25th May 2020
Read More

Stow on the Wold battlefield survey October 2015 Battlefield Projects Training Weekends
Saturday 30th and Sunday 31st May 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th June 2020
Read More

Stoke Field information board Battle of Stoke Field 1487
Saturday 20th June 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 2nd July 2020
Read More

Siege of York 1644
Sunday 5th July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 23rd July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 6th August 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 27th August 2020
Read More

Information board at Winceby Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 11th October 2020
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre