Events

Gunpowder weapons and artillery fortifications in medieval Southampton

Thursday 14th May 2020

Southampton has the distinction of being the earliest recorded town in England to invest significantly in gunpowder weapons and artillery fortifications. In this talk, Dr Dan Spencer explores the remarkable early history of firearms in Southampton and how the inhabitants used this new technology to improve their defences.

Dan is an independent historian from Winchester. He has a BA in history from the University of Exeter, as well as a MA and PhD from the University of Southampton. He is the author of The Castle at War in Medieval England and Wales, Royal and Urban Gunpowder Weapons in Medieval England, and a forthcoming book on castles in the Wars of the Roses.

7:00pm - 9:00pm, God’s House Tower, Town Quay Rd, Southampton SO14 2NY

Tickets £10.00 including Tower access 

For further information and tickets please click HERE

 
 

For further information.

 

East Anglia region study day
Saturday 29th February 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 1st March 2020
Read More

National Aboretum Staffordshire Military Heritage Weekend
Friday 13th March - Sunday 15th March 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Fulford 1066
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

How to Capture A Castle
Thursday 9th April 2020
Read More

A view of the Parliamentarian deployment area on 'Old Nans' (Ordnance) Hill at Ripple Battle of Ripple Field 1643
Saturday 18th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Ashdown 871
Sunday 26th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Thursday 14th May 2020
Read More

Battle of Alton 1643
Sunday 24th and Monday 25th May 2020
Read More

Stow on the Wold battlefield survey October 2015 Battlefield Projects Training Weekends
Saturday 30th and Sunday 31st May 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th June 2020
Read More

Stoke Field information board Battle of Stoke Field 1487
Saturday 20th June 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 2nd July 2020
Read More

Siege of York 1644
Sunday 5th July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 23rd July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 6th August 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 27th August 2020
Read More

Information board at Winceby Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 11th October 2020
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre