Events

Friends of the National Civil War Centre - Battlefields Trust - Civil War Conference 1643 Part II

Saturday 16th May 2020

The Friends of the National Civil War Centre and the East Midlands region of the Battlefields Trust present a joint conference looking at events in the second half of 1643 during the Civil War.  

Programme

1000 – 1020    Registration and tea/coffee

1020 – 1030    Welcome; Housekeeping; Friends and BT – aims & benefits of membership.

1030 – 1050    Where 1643 Part 1 Ended – Len Davis

1050 – 1150    The Solemn League and Covenant:   – Kirsteen Mackenzie

1150 – 1250    The First Siege of Bristol – John Dixon

1250 – 1350    Lunch

1350 - 1510     The Siege of Gloucester and 1st Battle of Newbury – Chris Scott

1510 - 1620     The rise of Oliver Cromwell in 1643 – Peter Gaunt

1620 – 1630    Events affecting Newark and summary – Kevin Winter

1630                Closing Remarks and Plans for Next Year

 

Tickets, including a buffet lunch, cost £25 per person for members of the Battlefields Trust and Friends of the National Civil War Centre.  Otherwise tickets cost £45 per person.

To book please use this Booking Form 

 

 
 
 

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Fulford 1066
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

How to Capture A Castle
Thursday 9th April 2020
Read More

A view of the Parliamentarian deployment area on 'Old Nans' (Ordnance) Hill at Ripple Battle of Ripple Field 1643
Saturday 18th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Ashdown 871
Sunday 26th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Thursday 14th May 2020
Read More

The Battle of Stanhope 1327
Wednesday 20th May 2020
Read More

Battle of Alton 1643
Sunday 24th and Monday 25th May 2020
Read More

Stow on the Wold battlefield survey October 2015 Battlefield Projects Training Weekends
Saturday 30th and Sunday 31st May 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th June 2020
Read More

Stoke Field information board Battle of Stoke Field 1487
Saturday 20th June 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 2nd July 2020
Read More

Siege of York 1644
Sunday 5th July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 23rd July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 6th August 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 27th August 2020
Read More

Adwalton battlefield marker Battle of Adwalton Moor 1643
Sunday 4th October 2020
Read More

Information board at Winceby Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 11th October 2020
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre