Events

Information board at Winceby

Battle of Winceby 1643- CANCELLED

Sunday 11th October 2020

Join Don Smith on a walk across the battlefield where Oliver Cromwell and Sir Thomas Fairfax defeated the Earl of Newcastle's army.

Meet:  at 1030 at Snipe Dales Country Park www.lincstrust.org.uk/snipe-dales where there are facilities available before moving to the Nature Reserve car park to begin the walk. The walk should take no more than two hours. Good footwear and waterproofs are advisable.

In addition to relating established versions of the battle, recent geophysical survey work and a fresh interpretation of the 17th Century landscape by a locally-based archaeologist will be discussed during the walk.

 

 
 

For further information.

 

Battlefields Trust online lectures 2021
Thursday 14th January - Thursday 8th April 2021
Read More

The Irish Soldier at Gallipoli
Tuesday 26th January 2021
Read More

Chilworth Gunpowder Mills
Sunday 7th February 2021
Read More

East Anglia Region Study Day
Saturday 13th February 2021
Read More

Battle of Cheriton 1644
Sunday 21st February 2021
Read More

Odiham Castle
Saturday 27th March 2021
Read More

2021 Annual Conference and AGM
Friday 30th April - Sunday 2nd May 2021
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre