Events

Information board at Winceby

Battle of Winceby 1643

Sunday 11th October 2020

Join Don Smith on a walk across the battlefield where Oliver Cromwell and Sir Thomas Fairfax defeated the Earl of Newcastle's army.

Meet:  at 1030 at Snipe Dales Country Park www.lincstrust.org.uk/snipe-dales where there are facilities available before moving to the Nature Reserve car park to begin the walk. The walk should take no more than two hours. Good footwear and waterproofs are advisable.

In addition to relating established versions of the battle, recent geophysical survey work and a fresh interpretation of the 17th Century landscape by a locally-based archaeologist will be discussed during the walk.

 

 
 

For further information.

 

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Fulford 1066
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

How to Capture A Castle
Thursday 9th April 2020
Read More

A view of the Parliamentarian deployment area on 'Old Nans' (Ordnance) Hill at Ripple Battle of Ripple Field 1643
Saturday 18th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Ashdown 871
Sunday 26th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Thursday 14th May 2020
Read More

The Battle of Stanhope 1327
Wednesday 20th May 2020
Read More

Battle of Alton 1643
Sunday 24th and Monday 25th May 2020
Read More

Stow on the Wold battlefield survey October 2015 Battlefield Projects Training Weekends
Saturday 30th and Sunday 31st May 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th June 2020
Read More

Stoke Field information board Battle of Stoke Field 1487
Saturday 20th June 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 2nd July 2020
Read More

Siege of York 1644
Sunday 5th July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 23rd July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 6th August 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 27th August 2020
Read More

Adwalton battlefield marker Battle of Adwalton Moor 1643
Sunday 4th October 2020
Read More

Information board at Winceby Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 11th October 2020
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre