Events

Arlington Castle

Battle of Wrotham 1554 and a visit to Arlington Castle

Sunday 16th June 2019

In 1554 many in Kent opposed the proposed marriage of Queen Mary to Philip II of Spain.  Join the South East Region for a rare opportunity to visit Arlington Castle where Sir Thomas Wyatt gathered his fellow rebels before his ill fated rebellion.

Before visiting the castle, there will be a walk across the site of the battle of Wrotham.

Meet at 11:00am at St George's church in Wrotham (TN15 7AA) for the battlefield walk

Lunch is then under own arrangements before meeting at Arlington Castle at 2:00pm for a guided tour of the castle and gardens with refreshments.

Cost for the visit to the castle is £10 for Battlefields Trust members and £15 for non-members.  Closing date for bookings is 7 June and payment must be made at the time of booking. For further details and to book please contact Chris May using teh details below

 

 
 

For further information.

 

East Anglia region study day
Saturday 29th February 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 1st March 2020
Read More

National Aboretum Staffordshire Military Heritage Weekend
Friday 13th March - Sunday 15th March 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Fulford 1066
Sunday 5th April 2020
Read More

How to Capture A Castle
Thursday 9th April 2020
Read More

A view of the Parliamentarian deployment area on 'Old Nans' (Ordnance) Hill at Ripple Battle of Ripple Field 1643
Saturday 18th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Ashdown 871
Sunday 26th April 2020
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Thursday 14th May 2020
Read More

Battle of Alton 1643
Sunday 24th and Monday 25th May 2020
Read More

Stow on the Wold battlefield survey October 2015 Battlefield Projects Training Weekends
Saturday 30th and Sunday 31st May 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th June 2020
Read More

Stoke Field information board Battle of Stoke Field 1487
Saturday 20th June 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 2nd July 2020
Read More

Siege of York 1644
Sunday 5th July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 23rd July 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 6th August 2020
Read More

Tewkesbury Abbey Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 27th August 2020
Read More

Information board at Winceby Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 11th October 2020
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre