Events

The ancient sunken lane which leads from Nibley Green to the battlefield

Battle of Nibley Green 1470

Saturday 21st September 2019

In 1470 Thomas Talbot, Lord Lisle and Lord William Berkeley took advantage of the chaos caused by the Wars of the Roses to assemble hundreds of their followers and settle the issue of a disputed inheritance with a pitched battle. Join Adam Dolling for the fascinating story of England’s last private battle.

Meet at 10:30 am on Saturday 21st September 2019 outside St Martin’s Church, North Nibley, Gloucestershire GL11 6DL.

The walk will cover around 3.5 miles and last approximately two and a half hours mostly along country lanes and some fields. 

 
 

For further information.

 

Battlefields Trust Annual Conference and AGM
Friday 26th to Sunday 28th April 2019
Read More

Battle of Barnet 1471
Sunday 28th April 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 6th June 2019
Read More

Visit to Norman Cross
Sunday 23rd June 2019
Read More

Chalk Valley History Festival
Thursday 27th June - Sunday 30th June 2019
Read More

Battle of Langport 1645
Saturday 6th July 2019
Read More

Storm of Marlborough 1642 - Re-enactment
Saturday and Sunday 27th July - 28th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

The ancient sunken lane which leads from Nibley Green to the battlefield Battle of Nibley Green 1470
Saturday 21st September 2019
Read More

Battle of Winceby sign Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 13th October 2019
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre