Events

Battle of Lewes 1264

Sunday 11th August 2019

Join John Freeman for a tour of this key battle that affected the onset of parliamentary democracy, between King Henry III, supported by loyal barons, versus Simon de Montfort leading the rebel barons.

De Montfort won the day leading to the first representative Parliament in January 1265, before his bloody downfall at the battle of Evesham and the reinstatement of Henry III.

The walk starts at 2.00 pm at the entrance to County Hall Car Park at the west end of the town (BN7 1UE).The walk is on the battlefield site on the Downs above Lewes, with splendid views and will last approximately two-and-a-half hours.

Lewes is well worth visiting with the castle and priory both involved in the battle. Why not make a day out with the castle and priory visits in the morning followed by lunch and the walk. Lewes railway station (regular trains from London) is in the town and around a five minute walk from the County Hall Entrance. 

 
 

For further information.

 

Barnet Medieval Festival
Saturday and Sunday 8th and 9th June 2019
Read More

Visit to Norman Cross
Sunday 23rd June 2019
Read More

Chalk Valley History Festival
Thursday 27th June - Sunday 30th June 2019
Read More

Information Board Cropredy Bridge Battle of Cropredy Bridge 1644 375th anniversary event
Saturday and Sunday 29th and 30th June 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Langport 1645
Saturday 6th July 2019
Read More

John Speed's map of Bristol Siege of Bristol 1643
Sunday 7th July 2019
Read More

Queen Eleanor's Cross Northampton Battle of Northampton 1460
Wednesday 10th July 2019
Read More

Storm of Marlborough 1642 - Re-enactment
Saturday and Sunday 27th July - 28th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 8th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Bosworth 1485 Medieval Festival
Saturday and Sunday 17th and 18th August 2019
Read More

A view of Crown Hill from the Bosworth battlefield Battle of Bosworth 1485
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

Battle of Myton 1319
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

Battle of Stamford Bridge 1066
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

The ancient sunken lane which leads from Nibley Green to the battlefield Battle of Nibley Green 1470
Saturday 21st September 2019
Read More

Battle of Winceby sign Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 13th October 2019
Read More

The view across Edgehill battlefield Battle of Edgehill 1642
Saturday 26th October 2019
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre