Events

First Battle of St Albans 1455

Sunday 19th May 2019

We will be exploring the events of 1455 and the first battle of St Albans, marking the beginning of the Wars of the Roses, which would go on for another 30 years, making it the longest period of civil strife in English history. The walk will last for approximately two-and-a-half hours. Meet outside St Albans Museum + Gallery (The Old Town Hall) AL3 5DJ, at 1.30 p.m. If you can arrive 15 minutes earlier it will give an opportunity to view the video about the battle in the museum.

The South East Region AGM will follow the walk at approximately 4.00 p.m. at the Waterend Barn, St Albans, AL1 3LE (Wetherspoons). All members welcome.

 

 
 

For further information.

 

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 6th June 2019
Read More

Barnet Medieval Festival
Saturday and Sunday 8th and 9th June 2019
Read More

Battle of Bosworth 1485
Sunday 9th June 2019
Read More

Top of Humber Lane on the Stoke battlefield Battle of Stoke Field 1487
Sunday 16th June 2019
Read More

Visit to Norman Cross
Sunday 23rd June 2019
Read More

Chalk Valley History Festival
Thursday 27th June - Sunday 30th June 2019
Read More

Information Board Cropredy Bridge Battle of Cropredy Bridge 1644 375th anniversary event
Saturday and Sunday 29th and 30th June 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 4th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Langport 1645
Saturday 6th July 2019
Read More

John Speed's map of Bristol Siege of Bristol 1643
Sunday 7th July 2019
Read More

Queen Eleanor's Cross Northampton Battle of Northampton 1460
Wednesday 10th July 2019
Read More

Storm of Marlborough 1642 - Re-enactment
Saturday and Sunday 27th July - 28th July 2019
Read More

Battle of Tewkesbury 1471
Thursday 8th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Lewes 1264
Sunday 11th August 2019
Read More

Battle of Myton 1319
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

Battle of Stamford Bridge 1066
Sunday 8th September 2019
Read More

The ancient sunken lane which leads from Nibley Green to the battlefield Battle of Nibley Green 1470
Saturday 21st September 2019
Read More

Battle of Winceby sign Battle of Winceby 1643
Sunday 13th October 2019
Read More

The view across Edgehill battlefield Battle of Edgehill 1642
Saturday 26th October 2019
Read More

The Battlefields Resource Centre